## **Argyll and Bute Community Planning Partnership**

Management Committee Date: 6<sup>th</sup> June 2012



## **Title: NEW COUNCIL**

 Following the local government elections in May all 36 councillors have now met and have made the following appointments to key positions.

Leader - Councillor Roddy McCuish

Deputy Leader - Councillor John Semple

Provost - Councillor Isobel Strong

Depute Provost - Douglas Philand

2. A number of other appointments were made at the first meeting of the new council, they were as follows –

Lead Councillor for Human Resources and Sport is Douglas Philand

Deputy Lead Councillor is Robert MacIntyre

Lead Councillor for Strategic Finance and European Affairs is James Robb

Deputy Lead Councillor is Gordon Blair

Lead Councillor for Planning and Regulatory Services is Sandy Taylor

Deputy Lead Councillor is Mary-Jean Devon

Lead Councillor for Energy, Development, Infrastructure and Tourism is John Semple

Deputy Lead Councillor is Louise Glen - Lee

Lead Councillor for Adult Care and Learning Disabilities is Anne Horn

Lead Councillor for Roads and Amenity Services is Donald Kelly

Deputy Lead Councillor is Robert G MacIntyre

Lead Councillor for Children and Families is Mary Jean Devon

Lead Councillor for Education and Lifelong Learning is Mike Breslin

Deputy Lead Councillor is Richard Trail

Lead Councillor for Community, Culture, Customer and Communication is Louise Glen Lee

Lead Councillor for Housing is George Freeman

Deputy Lead Councillor is Iain Angus MacDonald

Chair of the Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee is Councillor Sandy Taylor

Chair of the Licensing board is Councillor Sandy Taylor

Deputy Councillor Mary - Jean Devon

Opposition:

Lead Councillor for the opposition is Dick Walsh

Deputy Lead Councillor for the opposition is Ellen Morton

3. Appointments were also made for Argyll and Bute Council Area Committee positions, they are as follows –

Mid Argyll Kintyre and the Islands – Lead Councillor is Anne Horn

Deputy Lead Councillor is Donald Kelly

Oban, Lorn and the Isles - Lead Councillor is Louise Glen-Lee

Deputy Lead Councillor Elaine Robertson

Bute and Cowal - Lead Councillor Robert MacIntyre

Deputy Lead Councillor Gordon Blair

Helensburgh and Lomond - Lead Councillor James Robb

Deputy Lead Councillor Richard Trail

For further information contact: Eileen Wilson

Improvement and Organisational Development

Project Officer (Community Planning)

Telephone: 01436 658726

Email: <u>Eileen.wilson@argyll-bute.gov.uk</u>